Thompson receives Woodrow Wilson Fellowship

  • Dr. Anita Thompson, sociology lecturer, within the Department of Government and Sociology,  recently received a short-term Woodrow Wilson National Career Adjunct Faculty Enhancement Fellowship.
  • The Fellowship, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, provides each Fellow with a research stipend and guidance from/access to an assigned mentor and a small professional network of former Fellows.  A total of two Adjunct Faculty Fellowships are awarded each year.
  • The Career Enhancement Fellowship Program seeks to increase the presence of minority junior faculty members and other faculty members committed to eradicating racial disparities in core fields in the arts and humanities.



Coate elected Chair-Elect of ACUNS

  • Dr. Roger Coate, the Paul D. Coverdell chair of public policy, has been elected as chair-elect of the Board of Directors of the Academic Council on the United Nations System (ACUNS). After serving for a year as chair-elect, beginning in June 2017, he will assume the position as chair for a three-year term from June 2018 to June 2021.
  • ACUNS is the premier global professional association of educational and research institutions, individual scholars, teachers and practitioners active in the work and study of the United Nations, multilateral relations, global governance and international cooperation. The association promotes teaching on these topics, as well as dialogue and mutual understanding across and between academics, practitioners, civil society and students. Its members come from diverse fields of study and practice. It also has institutional members across the world, representing a diverse range of universities, research centers, think tanks, NGOs and related organizations. Georgia College has been an actively engaged institutional member of ACUNS since 2009.


Bobcat Athletics wins PBC Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award

  • Georgia College earned the PBC Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award for the first time in school history.
  • The annual honor is given to the institution displaying the best overall sportsmanship for the 2016-17 season and culminates the PBC’s season-long sportsmanship recognition program.
  • Following each championship sports season a Team Sportsmanship Award is presented to the team in that sport that best exemplifies what the award stands for: the spirit of sportsmanship, a high degree of integrity, character and class.  Each team award is voted on by other teams who compete in that sport and points are awarded on how each team finished in the voting.
  • In 2016-17, Georgia College was a co-winner of the Team Sportsmanship Award in women’s tennis and won outright in men’s tennis and volleyball.  GC has won 12 Team Sportsmanship Awards all-time.


Student receives Presidential Leadership Award

  • The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Institute presented Jonathan Mangrum with the Presidential Leadership Award during the Spring 2017 semester of the Leadership and the American Presidency (LTAP) program.
  • Mangrum was selected as the individual from his cohort who demonstrated thoughtful, measured and admirable leadership reflective of this award.
  • The Presidential Leadership Award is awarded to a student who demonstrates exemplary growth in leadership throughout their time with the LTAP program. Mangrum was a clear leader amongst his peers during his time with the LTAP program, and continued to grow as a leader through thoughtful inquiry. His actions and behavior were consistently reflective of a citizen leader, and his zeal for learning was evident in all that he did.
  • The Leadership and the American Presidency program is designed to identify student leaders who demonstrate leadership potential on their campuses and in their communities, and offer them an experience to elevate that leadership in practice here in Washington, DC. Students are challenged in their internships, through rigorous coursework, and experiential learning.

Dr. Jim Payne honored for “Best Paper in Economics”

  • Dr. Jim Payne, dean of the J. Whitney Bunting College of Business, will be honored by the Academy of Economics and Finance (AEF) for his paper with Dr. Junsoo Lee (University of Alabama) and Dr. Maruska Vizek (Institute of Economics Zagreb) entitled “Stochastic Convergence in Per Capita Fossil Fuel Consumption across U.S. States.”
  • For the research, they will receive the “Best Paper in Economics Award” at the 54th annual AEF conference in Charleston, South Carolina, in February 2017.
  • Their study utilizes recent advances in time series econometrics to examine the response of per capita fossil fuel consumption patterns for each of the 50 U.S. states in light of the federal and state energy policies related to energy conservation and efficiency standards along with the emergence of renewable portfolio standards across states. The results indicate that in the vast majority of states there is evidence of convergence in per capita fossil fuel energy consumption.


Georgia College Soccer receives NSCAA Team Academic Award

  • The Georgia College Soccer team is a recipient of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Team Academic Award for exemplary academic performance during the 2015-16 academic year.
  • The Bobcats received the award after posting a 3.46 team GPA in the 2015-16 academic year. Teams receiving the award must have a cumulative team GPA of 3.0 or higher.
  • The honor marks the fifth-straight year head coach Hope Clark’s squad has received the award.
  • Bobcat Soccer’s stellar academic performance in the 2015-16 academic year also helped the Georgia College Department of Athletics post the highest GPA in school history this passed year at 3.22.

GC intramural team wins Georgia Peach Classic Flag Football Tournament

  • A Georgia College intramural team took home the top prize at the Georgia Peach Classic Flag Football Tournament.
  • The team, named Flight, went 5-0 in the tournament beating Valdosta State, who was the defending state and national champions. Along the way, they also beat Georgia Southern, Kennesaw and Coastal Georgia twice. For their win, the team gets a paid entry to the national tournament, which will be held in Pensacola Florida during January 2017 and a plaque.